distant flickering, greener scenery

People whom, if they had lived at the same time, would have been friends with each other:
Sappho and Emily Dickinson and Regina Spektor and Imogen Heap. Well, Imogen and Regina certainly might know one another but Sappho and Emily are quite out of their reach.

I finished White Heat: The Friendship of Emily Dickinson and Thomas Wentworth Higginson by Brenda Wineapple. It was not always an easy read – Higginson’s life was full of activism and the Civil War and an invalid wife, and really what fascinates me is the purposeful hermitage of a woman who has left behind confusion and squabbling devotion on the part of her relatives.

I enjoyed many of the little snippets of letters, the insight into Emily’s familial relationships and everyday lives, understanding where her griefs originated. It was well written, and if you are interested in Emily’s life, this is a good book.

(Also on a historical note – The Young Victoria is an excellent period piece about Queen Victoria’s early life. Delicious and quite sweet. Makes me wish I knew of a good historical novel about the same period. )

8 thoughts on “distant flickering, greener scenery

  1. I kept intending to watch the Young Victoria, but my theater had it poorly timed to coincide with the shifts I worked. I’ll have to check it out when we get Netflix in the next couple months…

    1. You definitely should. I immediately went and got a sample of We Two:Albert and Victoria on my Kindle. I’m excited about reading it – it looks super good. Why is there no decent (read, not Jean Plaidy) historical fiction about Queen Victoria?

      1. That is an excellent question. Also, why is nearly all the Tudor-era historical fiction really slutty?

        Historical fiction is a genre that I have a huge desire to love with all my little heart, but so much of what I find is utter nonsense that I’ve held back quite a bit in the past few years. I find that I’m a better judge of how good a fantasy novel will be before I crack it open, so I’ve been sticking mostly to that, because the few historical ones I’ve found… whew. Phillipa Gregory is NOT all she’s cracked up to be.

        (I DEVOURED the Hunger Games, and I’ve got Matt set to read it next. Having read Battle Royale, I was prepared for a lack of morality and horrific gore. I was, frankly, rather touched by this book. I think it was the first time I enjoyed dystopian fiction so thoroughly…)

      2. Agreed on the slutty and on the Phillipa Gregory. I read two of hers and gave up. She twists history for her own purposes and mostly all her heroines just sleep around a lot. :-)

        (and I heart Hunger Games – we’re already discussing reading order on the third one within the family.)

      1. Ooooh… is that a permanent cut, or a sale thing? Because I could probably use Christmas money this year and get myself one… (if I don’t use Christmas money on the iPhone I want so desperately…)

  2. From what I’ve read, they may go down quite a bit more, thanks to the iPad. You may want to hold off just a bit and find out if there’s any truth to that or not. Just a suggestion ;)

Leave a Reply

