now my mornings are for wond’ring

Vacations are never long enough. Especially when they’re spent surrounded by your little cousins who aren’t as little as you remember and watching the sun set on the prairies. We drove home (Mom and Dad and I) through the Montana mountain passes, with a stop at my brother’s new place to see the view from his desk chair and bask in his hospitality – bacon and eggs at 5:30 in the morning.

Anyway. I’m home now, much to Buffy’s relief, because life at work without an email buddy is not pretty. (Much to my job’s relief, too, if the number of emails in my inbox is any indication.)

I did read on this trip – reread Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea and Anne of Island, all on my Kindle. I also finished my first Neal Stephenson novel, The Diamond Age. I enjoyed it, although it was a little in need of an editor, and his vocabulary was definitely pretentious. (Palimpsests? Really?) It was an interesting concept, though, and made me hopeful about Cryptonomincon which is currently sitting in the living room on the table.

I also read a book borrowed from Buffy the other week. Big Stone Gap, by Adriana Trigiani. It’s about the spinster of Big Stone Gap, as she discovers truth about her life and makes decisions about her future. I loved this book because of its realism about life and love. If I had the book here with me now, I would quote you some of the most delicious sections. Suffice it to say, it was a beautiful book.

Leave a Reply

