can only make me stronger.

Last night I got home from work a little before 6. I did some dishes, Jesse was by for a quick dinner. By 6:30, my laptop was back open and I was back to work.

This morning I woke up at 5:30am. I looked at the clock and thought “Wow. I can sleep another 15 minutes.” And then I got out of bed anyway.

I made four shots of espresso (yay for my beautiful espresso machine!) and made a hot latte for my coffee mug and put two shots aside for the middle of the day. I read for maybe fifteen minutes, but I made it to work by seven. I will hopefully be home around the same time tonight, probably working from home again.

***

I read Dan Chaon’s Await Your Reply this weekend. It was startling. I found it incredibly well crafted, with striking characters and a conclusion that, while not entirely a surprise if you are an attentive reader, was satisfying and thought-provoking. It was an well-crafted novel. It’s also, though, harsh and brutal. There’s strong recurring themes of identity, what makes a person a person. Good stuff, although not for the faint of heart.

***

I was reading blogs late last night and was startled by some people’s cleverness. Then I was slightly depressed by my general boringness these days. Sorry folks. Working 55+ hours a week does not an entertaining Coral make. I miss my rested self. I miss my self who had time to run 3 miles every day. (I really really miss that.)  As I told a developer yesterday, “Don’t let the general cheer fool you, this is not Coral’s ‘I’m-happy-with-this’ face.” (Yeah. Developers love me. I think it’s my sweet feminine charm.)

***

This is just me, everyone, letting you know that I’m not ignoring you because of a significant someone, or because I’m tangled up in a delicious superwash sock yarn, or because I was crushed under a landslide of library books. It’s called the old 9-5. Or 7-5. Or 7-5 and 6-8 and Saturdays. See you at the end of March.

Leave a Reply

