And ice, mast high, came floating by…

So it has been foggy for days, here, despite the cold. Yesterday, when the fog waves rolled away, the trees and bushes and power lines were left covered in sparkly rime*. I wanted to stop and take pictures, but I had to get to church to prepare my Sunday School lesson about Jonah’s choices about ministry and how they compared to Philip’s choices about ministering to the Ethiopian in Acts. Yes. I know, they’re in 1st and 2nd grade. I didn’t make it super-complicated. It more had to do with rejoicing over forgiveness than anything else.

The Sunday Philosophy Club (Sunday Philosophy Club, #1)
I also finished The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith. It was okay. It definitely didn’t blow me away. The main character seems to be an older, repressed woman who is obsessed with the younger generation’s love lives and idealizing her youth’s only relationship. The club mentioned in the title never materialized, but there was a lot of internal philosophizing, which got old, really fast. (Remember The Elegance of the Hedgehog?)

So I’m moving on…to some childhood re-reads and a book on principles of design that I’m reading for work (cooler than you would think.) This is going to be another good week.

*Funny story, I was thinking of the term “salt-rimed” this morning (thus the Rime of the Ancient Mariner blog title) when I was driving to work. But I was unsure how that was spelled, so I looked up “rime” and it actually means “an accumulation of granular ice tufts on the windward sides of exposed objects that is formed from supercooled fog or cloud and built out directly against the wind.” Perfect.

2 thoughts on “And ice, mast high, came floating by…

Leave a Reply

