leave the capsule if you dare.

So, I’m sure you can tell that I am super stressed about a bunch of stuff going on at work that I won’t bore you with the details of but that are related to the worst aspects of working on a “team” and are the reason that communism will never be a truly viable method of governing a group of humans. Mainly the fact that I don’t want anyone’s workload except mine. Seriously. This is my I-mean-it face. If I am going to still be working when the sun goes down, I would like the reason for that to be that I wasted too much time having a lunch break and reading novels, not that you wasted too much time having a lunch break and reading novels. Mm-kay?

Speaking of reading novels, I have found one. I shouldn’t say I found it, because my friend Hannah has recommended it since it first came out sometime last year. I knew it had been nominated for awards and what-have-you, but in reality, the Young Adult genre in general has become so inane and interested only in portraying unrealistic rich children’s lifestyles with details that push boundaries for even the most liberal of readers, which I am not. So I didn’t read it. Hannah sometimes has strange ideas of what is “the MOST AMAZING book she’s EVER read, in FOREVER” so I didn’t feel too guilty on missing out on this one. But then, yesterday, on my way home from work, I decided to stop at the library and pay my $7 fine and perhaps find a book on CD to listen to while I while away the weekend testing some really truly boring code (as opposed to Shiny Toy Guns remake of David Bowie’s Major Tom or Falling Slowing from the Once soundtrack on endless repeat because I’m a little addicted this week.) All that to say that when standing there waiting for a librarian to judge me for forgetting my card in “my other purse” (aka somewhere on my desk at home) there was a whole stack of Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins sitting right there. And I’m a sucker for stuff like that, and my internal monologue said Well, you can’t put off reading it forever.

When I got home, I went for an outdoor run (is it harder to breathe outside, it feels harder to breathe outside) and then did as much more work as I could handle with new book covers staring at me. When the sun went down, I gave in and read. And discovered that it really is quite possibly one of the most amazing books Hannah has ever read in forever, because it is very good. Katniss lives in a dystopian future North America, where twelve colonies are being punished by a thirteenth for a war that ended years ago. Forced each year to give up two of their children, one boy and one girl to a brutal, national televized fight to the death, with each other and the wild. Like Survivor, but with killing and less presents.

It sounds really engaging, no? But it is. So much of the book is about Katniss and her struggle to understand her world while adapting fast enough not to die. Hmm. I don’t think that really did it justice either. I guess what I’m trying to tell you is that it is not a brutal bloodbath, it is a thinking book, and a feeling book. Best of all, it is remarkably well-written, and I would highly recommend it to older teens (I don’t really know how to age-classify properly anymore, but I wouldn’t recommend this one before 14 or 15, maybe older if they are a sensitive child) and adults.

And now, back to my regularly scheduled (computer) programming.

7 thoughts on “leave the capsule if you dare.

  1. I actually checked this one out on the recommendation of a friend, but didn’t get around to reading it before it was due. I’ll put it on my list again. You’ve never led me wrong, Coral!

  2. just went to the library- collins all checked out! put on hold. finished and returned (sans late fee, now i’m bragging because it was a 7 day book- not that i can’t read it in 7 days- i just usually return it in 7, but i digress) the latest #1 ladies detective agency book. i love him. do you? also his dalhousie series. i’ve also been trying to read all newbary award winners. this week it was patron. unexpectedly good- because i wasn’t crazy about the intro.

    1. LOL. I understood what you meant, and graciously forgave and ignored any mis-types. (Plus, suddenly realizing that there were 5 comments pretty much made my super-boring afternoon.)
      I do like McCall Smith, although I don’t think I’ve read any of the Dalhousie series. I really enjoyed the Portuguese Sausage Dogs series, with his snide commentary on academia. I haven’t read the newest No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency book, but maybe I should put that on my list. And I like the idea of reading the Newbery Award Winners…maybe I should look into that.

Leave a Reply

