smooth criminal

Around the time when I moved from my illustrious career in book retail to my current high-powered software job, I wrote a post about what should be missed about working retail (for three years! while getting an M.A. – what was I thinking?) and today, when I read this, I remembered my top gripe highlight of serving the public:

You think they don't? It's humiliating, believe me.
You think they don't? It's humiliating, believe me.

 To recap for you all, the top things to miss about retail:

5. The flexible schedule – being “allowed” to work every Friday night and weekend.

4. An hourly pay rate that won’t cover your lunch.

3. The extra pay you make every holiday you work, which is actually every holiday. (Really, no kidding. Ask my family how much fun Christmas is when I have to close Christmas Eve and open on Boxing Day.)

2. Answering the phone and realizing you are simply someone’s personal shopper. “Um, great, so I just have four or five more I want to have you run check.”

1. Being treated like a criminal and having a manager rifle through your bag to check for stolen merchandise every time you leave the store.

Intrigued? You can always read the rest of my reminiscence here.

Leave a Reply

