watch a sunset on my own…

I was going to post an angry/frustrated Coral post a couple of days ago. I’ve had a challenging week, with lots of job stuff (all good, but still really busy – I mean, you want your boss to come to you after 6 months and say “Well, we think you’re doing really well, and we’d like to put you in charge of X” – but it doesn’t cut the stress) and some hauntings from the past.

However. I talked to my friend Ben from college the other night, and it’s surprising how much he adjusted my attitude. He reminded me of why I choose the right even when it seriously complicates my life (again), and reminded me that I’m not choosing the right alone (also again.) Not to mention, Ben is right…there are benefits to even the most awkward situations. (Kentucky trip early this summer?)

Maybe too, you have to hear these things from someone who has already seen you in situations with all your flaws hanging out and still loves you. My favorite Ben moment was when we were all waiting outside the college gym in the hot sun, waiting to enter and receive our diplomas. My tassels, denoting my graduating status of magna cum laude, were coming unravelled, and because of this (and the multitude of other things going on in those two weeks) I too was coming unravelled. Ben, whose alphabetic place in line was close enough to see me freaking out, finally just sighed, took off his magna cum laude tassels, replaced mine with them, and calmly graduated with unravelled tassels. Such poise.

******

So on a completely different note. I finished Murakami’s The Wind Up Bird Chronicle It was…different. It was a good book, but only accessible to those artsy movie types. I was blown away by his talent as a writer, but I’m not sure I’ll be willing to traverse another novel of his in for a while…

I’m now in the middle of Blindness, by Jose Saramago. I’m not willing to give any opinion of it yet, but I did find a quote that made me laugh.

To set the scene, there is a woman of ill repute in a hotel. “Virtue, should there be anyone who still ignores the fact, always finds pitfalls on the extremely difficult path of perfection, but sin and vice are so favoured by fortune that no sooner did she get there than the elevator door opened.”

I was reminded of “Righteous are You, O LORD, that I would plead my case with You; Indeed I would discuss matters of justice with You: Why has the way of the wicked prospered? Why are all those who deal in treachery at ease?” (Jer 12.1) and liked that Saramago took it all the way down to the mundane. Why do people who are not seeking the Lord have it easier, even in little things like catching the elevator at just the right time?

After this week, it was good to laugh at the challenges of doing the right thing. Alright. I’m out. Dinner with some of the nearby fam to celebrate Brock’s success!!

Leave a Reply

