muted chimes find the beat

Just an update while I’m thinking of it (work is really really rrreeaaalllyyy slow this week) about my first reads (hopefully) of the New Year:

Bel Canto, by Ann Patchett. I read my first of hers, Run, last year. It had some flaws, but the writing itself wasn’t one of them, and I have heard for years that this book is worth every minute. I’m not sure how a book about terrorists can be reviewed as “gentle” – so we’ll see.

The Wind Up Bird Chronicle, Haruki Murakami. I have never read anything by this author, but I am impressed with Chip Kidd’s cover designs enough that I have wanted to read this one for a while. Call me crazy, but I do judge a book by it’s cover. And the heft of its paperback printing. And its smell. It’s supposed to be an incredible journey through the intricacies of Tokyo….

Blindness, Jose Saramajo – this book has fascinated me for a long time, before there was any talk of a movie, and I thought I should read it before it gets its token boost from the box office. It’s about the world getting afflicted by a pandemic of blindness, save for one woman. I know. Not uplifting, but I’ve heard Saramajo is a genius with words.

The Meaning of Night: A Confession, Michael Cox. So I feel the most uncertain about this one, right now. It seems to be a gothic novel of the sort warned against in Northanger Abbey but accomplished so well in Ruiz’s Shadow of the Wind. The upside is that the book feels like a winner to the hands. So…

The Broken Shore, Peter Temple. This is my token mystery novel. I don’t know how I got from the point where I hated Agatha Christie novels to here, where I read mysteries for fun. I prefer more psychological mysteries, and I steer away from crime thrillers where it’s all slash and chase. (Don’t get me wrong, I see their appeal, I just try to stay out of junk food reading (not to be confused with comfort food reading, which I highly approve of, just junk food, where the writing has nothing to offer your vocabulary or writing style.)) But this book is by an up and coming Australian writer, and is highly recommended by Nancy Pearl, whose book reviews I generally find on the spot.

I’ll let you know what I think if and when I make it through these….loves to all.
Now all you need to make your New Year complete is for me to get busy enough that I stop posting like a mad woman…

One thought on “muted chimes find the beat

  1. I’m halfway through The Meaning of Night right now – I really like it so far. I read Bel Canto a couple years ago and didn’t like it so much.

Leave a Reply

