so … no.

*edit*
So today, Greg and I came to the conclusion that since there is no Latin word for ninja that we would just give it first declension endings: ninja, ninjae, ninjae, ninjam, ninja….etc.
:-D Gregory is the best padawan any Latin TA ever had.

Hehe.
The Jehovah’s Witnesses just stopped by to visit me, and argued with me for 10 or 15 minutes about God and evil. Granted, they argue pretty darn meekly for people who are certain that they’re on a path that I’m not on. They busted out the question “Have you ever thought about where the Devil came from?” early on, but never gave me a chance to respond until after discussing paradise here on earth. Which I don’t think is going to happen till a LONG time from now. So I said that I didn’t think that this world was going to ever regain Eden-like status, but that would have to wait till the new heavens and the new earth. They didn’t seem to like that, quoting the Lord’s Prayer and saying that we are praying for His will on earth as it is in heaven, which apparently to them means that the world will become a paradise. (Their literature is full of happy pictures of sick people recovering and little girls in wheelchairs walking, so I’m sure you can imagine how that made me feel.) So I quoted Amos 3.6 (reminded of its location by Alisa’s recent post) “If there is calamity in a city, will not the Lord have done it?” That kind of stumped them, for the most part, saying that surely the answers to my questions (I didn’t ask one) would be found in my Bible, if I was willing to read it. I just smiled and said thank you.
And came back in to my Greek homework. The joys.

One thought on “so … no.

  1. How about this: “I thought a Jehovah’s Witness wasn’t supposed to associate with non-believers.” Ok, so not really a very Christian response, but it’s impossible to have a debate with people who have a different Bible. Kudos to you for not losing it. I’d probably just stare at them and completely blank out. Yew r sew smartr then mee.

Leave a Reply

