take a look it’s in a book

reading rainbow! (I have had to resort to PBS shows for song lyrics – we have entered a new era..) Rachel, why is it that you are the only person who can ever make me feel like filling out these things. Maybe it’s just my obssessive interest in the goth commenter that has spawned this. (Seriously, time for school to start.)

1. One book that changed your life:
Plutarch’s Lives. Yup, I’m that nerdy. It’s the book that introduced me to the ancient Greek language back at the turn of the century. (I just like saying that.) Nearly nine years later, and we’re still just as in love as ever.

2. One book you’ve read more than once:
The Beacon At Alexandria. Been reading it every year since my senior year of high school. I found it while shelving when I worked at the library. May I just say that I did work some of the time I was there.

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
I think that The Count of Monte Cristo would stand the test of time. And sand. And extreme sunburn.

4. One book that made you laugh:
I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. What’s not to love about a protagonist who sounds exactly like the inside of my head? I’ll find the line I think she stole from me and post it later.

5. One book that made you cry:
The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell. Seriously a good book. I don’t know why Melly didn’t like it.

6. One book that you wish had been written:
Glaciers and Coffee Grounds, by me. Or maybe I’ll title it the ever popular The Vocabulary that Killed My Love Life.

7. One book that you wish had never been written:
The DaVinci Code. Seriously, if I have to find that blasted book for one more blasted customer…

8. One book you’re currently reading:
The Looking Glass Wars, by Frank Beddor. It’s an advance readers edition, and it’s really really good.

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read:
Nicholas Ostler’s Empires of the Word: A Language History of the World. Actually it’s the one on my bedside table that I haven’t dipped into yet. But it looks incredible.

10. Scariest book you’ve ever read:
The Secret History, by Donna Tartt. Terrifying.

Alright, now I’m going to be late going back to work. RACHEL!!!

10 thoughts on “take a look it’s in a book

  1. Did I ever share the story about the reading rainbow song that surfaced at katie’s wedding? It goes along with the reading-as-flirting theory some of the girls had… and it makes that song seem more than a little pervy.

    FYI.

  2. It’s not your vocabulary that is kiling your love life – it’s your reading list! I’ll have to devise a good list for you. . .

  3. I love the goth commenter. I love it that she wrote that thinking she’d be all “BAM, in your face with my cutting remark!” and just ended up sounding stupid.

  4. And you said at Borders that you had no books to recommend to me. Hah! Not that I want to read ancient Greek texts, but still…

    You and Rachel both made me feel inferior.

    But now I have to read The Secret History because I love terrifying [small children].

  5. Oh my gosh. It’s 1:30, and I just woke up. I really hope you didn’t try to call me this morning, that you forgot or something. Because I feel like a really big jerk. So much for coffee.

  6. With all your good-book-readingness. I read things like Dean Koontz. Although! I’ve read all of Jane Austen at least three times (except Northanger Abbey. hated that book.). Y’alls are so smart.

  7. i am not ashamed to say that i would still watch reading rainbow today.

    i’m amazed you have to actually find the da vinci code for people…isn’t it usually right in your face in most bookstores?

    and you’re right. it would’ve been okay if that book were to never grace itself into the hands of this already warped american land.

Leave a Reply

