Eclipse

This darkness is too bright.

The passing seared my startled vision.

Unexpected.

Your soul shadowed –

My eyes open in darkness.

Windows to the soul. Scarred.

Burned by the image, haunting every closing.

You are on the other side –

Shrouded no more.

In that moment I realized

We’d plunged with you to darkness.

The light that followed, different yet the same.

And you –

You are in the Light I can’t see.

It was beauty. Eclipse.

Raw. Harsh. Untamed.

Dangerous.
Were you unafraid?

I cried.

I thought when they covered you with dirt

It was over.

But
splendour breaks forth.

Let there be light.
Let there be morning.

Leave a Reply

