wanna see you again

Have you hugged an aged P today?

I wish I had.

On the random upsettedness note:  If people got half as upset about the treatment they and other people give to those in their immediate neighborhood, rather than flying off the handle about poor treatment, or imagined poor treatment of those they don’t even know, our hall would be a nicer place to live. Try treating the girl across the hall from you with that kind of love and respect, even if you don’t feel it.

Cori, this song made me think of you the whole way back from Spring Break last year . . . I think it’s a just-got-back-from-break sort of song.  Sigh.   Cor, do you remember us, on the beach, on the boardwalk, the cold smell of salt and the sting of the ocean on your face?  The sound of your wheels on the boards, the way my laugh sounds when facing that much space . . . open water, stretching forever.  Did you know I went all the way back to the ocean and stood on the edge one last time before driving home?  It was really early in the morning and I had to park like a mile away because I didn’t have your handicapped pass . . . and there was sand between my toes the whole way home.

Sand in My Shoes

Two weeks away it feels like the world should’ve changed
But I’m home now
And things still look the same
I think I’ll leave it to tomorrow till unpack
Try to forget for one more night
That I’m back in my flat on the road
Where the cars never stop going through the night
To real life where I can’t watch sunset
I don’t have time
I don’t have time

I’ve still got sand in my shoes
And I can’t shake the thought of you
I shake it all, forget you
Why, why would I want to
I know we said goodbye
Anything else would’ve been confused but I wanna see you again

Tomorrow’s back to work down to sanitation
should’ve run back ?? before I left here
Try to Mama show her that I was happy here
Before I knew that I could get on the plane and fly away
From the road where the cars never stop going through the night
To real life where I can’t watch sunset
And take my time
Take up our time

I wanna see you again
Two weeks away, all it takes to change in time around by falling
I walked away and never said that I wanted to see again

I wanna see you again
I wanna see you again

Leave a Reply

